Final four Victorian seats to be declared


The final four districts in the Victorian state election are set to be officially declared after Premier Daniel Andrews opted to hold off conceding the ultra-tight seat of Ripon.

The Victorian Electoral Commission said on Saturday that sitting Liberal MP Louise Staley had taken Ripon, in northwest Melbourne, by just 15 votes.

However, Mr Andrews said on Sunday he would wait for the result to be made official before conceding to the Liberals.

The VEC has completed 84 formal declarations for the 88-seat Legislative Assembly since November 30.

Results for Ripon, Benambra, South Barwon and South-West Coast will be formally declared on Monday.

The Liberals are expected to also retain Benambra and South-West Coast, while South Barwon will likely go to Labor.

The Andrews government was returned for a second term with a solid majority of at least 53 seats.

The Liberal Party is sitting on 18, with shadow attorney-general John Pesutto the opposition’s highest-profile loser after being pipped by Labor in Hawthorn.

Their coalition partners, the Nationals, have six seats, and the Greens claimed three.

The VEC is set to finish counting for the upper house on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply